'Seasons Quartet' by Karl Ove Knausgaard

Within these volumes, a Father introduces the world to his unborn child through passionate letters and essays. He manages to turn the mundane in...

continued

With A Mind To Kill by Anthony Horowitz

Having previously crafted a prequel (Forever and a Day); told an adventure from the middle of OO7's career (Trigger Mortis) bestselling auth...

continued

7 1/2 by Christos Tsiolkas

''One of Australia’s most renowned contemporary writers follows up the brutal awe of 2019’s Damascus with this new, tailored...

continued

The Goldfinch by Donna Tartt

Wonderfully Dickensian in every sense, this book follows young protagonist Theo from the devastation of a terror attack to the heights of New Yo...

continued

Elizabeth Finch by Julian Barnes

I was nervous to read this, because I have loved all of Julian’s other novels so deeply - but there is something so transient about Elizab...

continued

Devotion by Hannah Kent

Hanne has always been different. She can hear the songs in the trees and the earth, and feels more at home outdoors than anywhere else. Hanne...

continued

Young Mungo by Douglas Stuart

Protestant Mungo lives with his wayward alcoholic mother and his ambitious older sister in an housing estate in Glasgow. He can't wait to le...

continued

The White Album by Joan Didion

Irresistible, ground-breaking, explicit, prolific. The White Album is a pioneer in Didion’s corpus. Transformative in its entirety, words ...

continued

Stoner by John Williams

From the opening lines of the book, we learn that William Stoner is a man who did not leave much of a physical trace on the world around him, wi...

continued

Lemon by Kwon Yeo-Sun

Lemon is a fresh, razor-sharp addition to the world of literary fiction. In the aftershock of a schoolgirl’s murder, lies, resentment...

continued

Crossroads by Jonathan Franzen

Hysterical, with Jonathan Franzen back in masterful form in the unspooling of a deliciously dysfunctional family drama amid pirouettic prose. Wh...

continued

Cold Enough For Snow by Jessica Au

Jessica Au’s ‘Cold Enough for Snow’ felt less like a novel and more like stepping inside someone else’s mind. Perhaps so...

continued

The Grandest Bookshop In The World by Amelia Mellor

I was delighted to be transported to the Cole’s Book Arcade in Melbourne at it’s finest in the late 1800's. Mr Cole bought to li...

continued

Send Nudes by Saba Sams

“Send Nudes” is one of the most beautiful short story collections I’ve read in a long time. Think the grittiness of Otessa Mos...

continued

Only A Monster by Vanessa Len

We all grow up reading fairy tales. Stories of good versus evil where morality is black and white with no shades of grey. Tales where we all che...

continued

Love & Virtue by Diana Reid

Perfect for fans of Sally Rooney, this is a powerful contemporary novel about sex, power and consent. This novel chronicles the friendship of Mi...

continued

Love & Virtue by Diana Reid

Sex. Power. Consent. An electrifying debut taking place on an Australian university campus, with echoes of The First Stone by Helen Garner and C...

continued

Five Crowns

This is my favourite card game ever.  It’s the only card game my family ALL love and can play together without arguing or cheating.&n...

continued

The Ruin by Dervla McTiernan

Here’s one you might have missed when it first came out. If you like a police procedural but also want a gripping thriller then this is th...

continued

The Dark by Emma Haughton

My two favourite genres are 'locked-room mysteries' and 'crime in cold weather'. Throw in an unreliable narrator and you&rs...

continued