This year, we encourage our customers to shop early for Christmas. Australia Post has advised they expect delayed deliveries for items shipped during the Christmas peak period. Last orders to be placed online by 9 December 2020 for Christmas delivery; utilise Reserve & Collect or head into your local Harry Hartog store.

9780008270407

Flash Crash

A Trading Savant, a Global Manhunt and the Most Mysterious Market Crash in History

Liam Vaughan


Format:
ISBN: 9780008270407
Published: May 2020

Price: $32.99

Condition: New

'The UK's pre-eminent chronicler of financial crime' New Yorker

'Not just a readable, pacey account of an extraordinary individual and his quixotic quest for money he didn't even spend, but also a troubling expose of the fragility of our entire financial system ... I loved it'
Oliver Bullough, author of Moneyland

For fans of Bad Blood and Flash Boys, the story of a trading prodigy who amassed $70 million from his childhood bedroom-until the US government accused him of helping trigger an unprecedented market collapse.

On May 6, 2010, financial markets around the world tumbled simultaneously and without warning. In the span of five minutes, a trillion dollars of valuation was lost. The Flash Crash, as it became known, represented the fastest drop in market history. When share values rebounded less than half an hour later, experts around the globe were left perplexed. What had they just witnessed?

Navinder Singh Sarao hardly seemed like a man who would shake the world's financial markets to their core. Raised in a working-class neighbourhood in West London, Nav was a preternaturally gifted trader who played the markets like a computer game. By the age of thirty, he had left behind London's trading arcades, working instead out of his childhood home. For years the money poured in. But when lightning-fast electronic traders infiltrated markets and started eating into his profits, Nav built a system of his own to fight back. It worked-until 2015, when the FBI arrived at his door. Depending on whom you ask, Sarao was a scourge, a symbol of a financial system run horribly amok, or a folk hero-an outsider who took on the tyranny of Wall Street and the high-frequency traders.

A real-life financial thriller, Flash Crash uncovers the remarkable, behind-the-scenes narrative of a mystifying market crash, a globe-spanning investigation into international fraud, and the man at the centre of them both.

Details
  • Format:
  • ISBN: 9780008270407
  • Published: May 2020
  • Publisher: HarperCollins Publishers
  • Number of pages: 272
  • Width (mm): 153
  • Height (mm): 234
  • Depth (mm): 25
  • Weight (g): 340

* Available at these Harry Hartog Stores

This item is on the shelf at the following Harry Hartog shops. Please contact the shop to reserve your copy.

* Availability and price subject to change at any time.

  • Harry Hartog Bondi Junction
    (02) 9389 0690
    false false false Reserve and collect here
  • Harry Hartog Burnside Village
    08 8338 0920
    false false false Reserve and collect here
  • Harry Hartog Green Hills
    (02) 4934 3663
    false false false Reserve and collect here
  • Harry Hartog Kotara
    (02) 4952 2522
    false false false Reserve and collect here
  • Harry Hartog Macquarie
    (02) 9888 2111
    false false false Reserve and collect here
  • Harry Hartog Miranda
    (02) 9524 4744
    false false false Reserve and collect here
  • Harry Hartog Maroochydore
    07 5451 1878
    false false false Reserve and collect here
  • Harry Hartog Narellan
    (02) 4648 2211
    false false false Reserve and collect here
  • Harry Hartog Warringah
    (02) 9939 3044
    false false false Reserve and collect here
  • Harry Hartog Woden
    (02) 6232 5832
    false false false Reserve and collect here