Order before 7th December to guarantee delivery in time for Christmas! 

9781760525361

How to Talk About Climate Change in a Way That Makes a Difference

Rebecca Huntley


Format:
ISBN: 9781760525361
Published: July 2020

Price: $32.99

Condition: New

'The antidote to climate anxiety is action. Make your first action reading this book.' OSHER GUNSBERG

'Rebecca Huntley has given us a great gift: an essential guide to understanding ourselves and each other as we face the climate crisis. Let's take down the walls that divide us. Collectively, with compassion and courage, we can make real change happen.' KYLIE KWONG

'Explains whether and how we will choose to solve the climate problem. Immensely important analysis in a great read.' PROFESSOR ROSS GARNAUT

A self-help book for the climate era, for readers of Ross Garnaut, Tim Flannery, Hugh Mackay

Why is it so hard to talk about climate change?

While scientists double down on the shocking figures, we still find ourselves unable to discuss climate change meaningfully among friends and neighbours - or even to grapple with it ourselves.

The key to progress on climate change is in the psychology of human attitudes and our ability to change. Whether you're already alarmed and engaged with the issue, concerned but disengaged, a passive skeptic or an active denier, understanding our emotional reactions to climate change - why it makes us anxious, fearful, angry or detached - is critical to coping on an individual level and convincing each other to act.

This book is about understanding why people who aren't like you feel the way they do and learning to talk to them effectively. What we need are thousands - millions - of everyday conversations about the climate to enlarge the ranks of the concerned, engage the disengaged and persuade the cautious of the need for action.

Details
  • Format:
  • ISBN: 9781760525361
  • Published: July 2020
  • Publisher: Murdoch Books
  • Number of pages: 304
  • Width (mm): 153
  • Height (mm): 234
  • Depth (mm): Not specified
  • Weight (g): 380

* Available at these Harry Hartog Stores

This item is on the shelf at the following Harry Hartog shops. Please contact the shop to reserve your copy.

* Availability and price subject to change at any time.

  • Harry Hartog Burnside Village
    08 8338 0920
    false false false Reserve and collect here
  • Harry Hartog Kotara
    (02) 4952 2522
    false false false Reserve and collect here
  • Harry Hartog Marrickville
    02 8319 8899
    false false false Reserve and collect here
  • Harry Hartog Woden
    (02) 6232 5832
    false false false Reserve and collect here