9781728206592

No Reading Allowed

The WORST Read-Aloud Book Ever

Raj Haldar, Chris Carpenter (Original author), Bryce Gladfelter (Illustrated by)


Format:
ISBN: 9781728206592
Published: March 2020

Price: $27.99

Condition: New

Age range 4+

From the #1 New York Times bestselling author of P is for Pterodactyl comes another hilarious fresh look at the English language!

In the vein of Eats, Shoots, and Leaves, this delightful new book places pairs of similar-sounding sentences together and illustrates them in two hilariously different ways. These illustrations gone awry highlight how absurd the English language can be. But, have no fear!

The illustrations will give you all the clues you need to decipher the true meanings behind these wily words. You won't be tricked by phrases like 'C Major, it's a beautiful key! / See Major, it's a beautiful quay!' Context clues, bright illustrations, and rhyming words will help readers navigate the ridiculous text with ease.

Watch an interview with Raj Haldar and editor Kelly Barrales-Saylor here

See the announcement of the book at the 2020 online BEA children's dinner here

Click here to watch the video of Raj Halder explaining who he is, the concept of NRA, and reading a few favourite spreads from No Reading Allowed.

'Endlessly funny...Preposterous situations and farcical sound-alike
sentences will elicit groans and giggles.' - Kirkus Reviews

'This book is a stellar follow-up to P Is for Pterodactyl with all the wit and humour of its predecessor, and then some. A perfect way to teach kids about language, or maybe just confuse the heck out of them, but either way, it'll be fun for the whole family.' - Britt Margit Hopkins, Second Star to the Right

Praise for P for Pterodactyl:

'You can curse the English language for its insane spelling rules (or lack thereof), or you can delight in it, as this raucous trip through the odd corners of our alphabet does.' - The New York Times, Standout New Picture Books Selection

'This atypical alphabet book
humorously addresses 'mischievous words' that ignore the rules of phonetics and
spelling... Each letter's sample is illustrated with cartoony, full-colour
drawings followed by a comically absurd sentence highlighting other examples. 'G
is for Gnocchi. / The gnome yells, 'Waiter! There's a bright white gnat
nibbling on my gnocchi!' ...the concept will help new readers and new English
language learners conquer some of the more peculiar aspects of our language.' - Kirkus
Reviews

'Explore the many quirks and
anomalies of English spelling and pronunciation in an A-to-Z tribute to some of
the most unconventional words in the lexicon. Learn why Y is not for 'why' and
U is not for 'you,' but V is for 'five' and C is for 'czar.' With this book
full of puns, alliteration, playful artwork, and plenty of entertaining
observations, children of all ages will enjoy celebrating the exceptions to the
rules.' - Foreword Reviews, STARRED Review

'Are you a logophile (someone who
loves words)? If you are, this delightful picture book will be your new favourite
alphabet book...In this book, 'A is for Aisle' and 'H is for Heir.' What? Below
each letter and illustration is a sentence describing each word. 'M is for
Mnemonic. // But now Mr. M. can't remember why.' Isn't this a delight for
readers and writers of all ages? It's my new favourite.' - Imagination
Soup

'A win for word nerd kids and pun-tastic
dads everywhere.' - The Dad

'The book spotlights words that have
silent letters, or weird grammar rules, and invites you to ponder dangerous
word traps and oddities. And you might learn something new along the
way...While other lessons teach really important principles that, honestly,
could change your life and maybe even help you find love.' - Funny or
Die

Details
  • Format:
  • ISBN: 9781728206592
  • Published: March 2020
  • Publisher: Sourcebooks, Inc
  • Number of pages: 40
  • Width (mm): 216
  • Height (mm): 279
  • Depth (mm): Not specified
  • Weight (g): Not specified

* Available at these Harry Hartog Stores

This item is on the shelf at the following Harry Hartog shops. Please contact the shop to reserve your copy.

* Availability and price subject to change at any time.

  • Harry Hartog Australian National University
    02 6230 0197
    false false false Reserve and collect here
  • Harry Hartog Bondi Junction
    (02) 9389 0690
    false false false Reserve and collect here
  • Harry Hartog Burnside Village
    08 8338 0920
    false false false Reserve and collect here
  • Harry Hartog Green Hills
    (02) 4934 3663
    false false false Reserve and collect here
  • Harry Hartog Kotara
    (02) 4952 2522
    false false false Reserve and collect here
  • Harry Hartog Macquarie
    (02) 9888 2111
    false false false Reserve and collect here
  • Harry Hartog Miranda
    (02) 9524 4744
    false false false Reserve and collect here
  • Harry Hartog Maroochydore
    07 5451 1878
    false false false Reserve and collect here
  • Harry Hartog Narellan
    (02) 4648 2211
    false false false Reserve and collect here
  • Harry Hartog Warringah
    (02) 9939 3044
    false false false Reserve and collect here
  • Harry Hartog Woden
    (02) 6232 5832
    false false false Reserve and collect here