9781742611075

Shantaram

Gregory David Roberts


Format: Paperback
Published: November 2011

Price: $29.99

Condition: New

"A publishing phenomenon" Sunday Times

It took me a long time and most of the world to learn what I know about love and fate and the choices we make, but the heart of it came to me in an instant, while I was chained to a wall and being tortured.

Shantaram is a novel based on the life of the author, Gregory David Roberts. In 1978 Roberts was sentenced to nineteen years imprisonment as punishment for a series of robberies of building-society branches, credit unions, and shops he had committed while addicted to heroin. In July 1980 he escaped from Victoria's maximum-security prison in broad daylight, thereby becoming one of Australia's most wanted men for what turned out to be the next ten years. For most of this period he lived in Bombay. He set up a free health clinic in the slums, acted in Bollywood movies, worked for the Bombay mafia as a forger, counterfeiter, and smuggler and, as a gun-runner, resupplied a unit of mujaheddin guerrilla fighters in Afghanistan. This is the setting of Shantaram.

Apart from having this highly unusual personal background, Greg Roberts is a very gifted writer. His book is a blend of vivid dialogue, unforgettable characters, amazing adventures, and superb evocations of Indian life. It can be read as a vast, extended thriller, as well as a superbly written meditation on the nature of good and evil. It is a compelling tale of a hunted man who had lost everything - his home, his family, and his soul - and came to find his humanity while living at the wildest edge of experience.

Gregory David Roberts retired from public life in 2014 to devote time to his family and new writing projects.

The Mountain Shadow, sequel to Shantaram, is available now.

PRAISE FOR SHANTARAM

"A literary masterpiece ... at once erudite and intimate, reflective and funny ... it has the grit and pace of a thriller" Daily Telegraph

"Powerful and original ... a remarkable achievement" Sunday Telegraph

"Extraordinarily vivid ... a gigantic, jaw-dropping, grittily authentic saga" Daily Mail

"At once a high-kicking, eye-gouging adventure, a love saga and a savage yet tenderly lyrical fugitive vision." Time Out

Fans of Vikram Seth, John Irving and David Mitchell will love Shantaram.

Details
  • Format: Paperback
  • ISBN: 9781742611075
  • Published: November 2011
  • Publisher: Pan Macmillan Australia
  • Number of pages: 944
  • Width (mm): 135
  • Height (mm): 207
  • Depth (mm): 64
  • Weight (g): 776

* Available at these Harry Hartog Stores

This item is on the shelf at the following Harry Hartog shops. Please contact the shop to reserve your copy.

* Availability and price subject to change at any time.

  • Harry Hartog Australian National University
    (02) 6230 0197
    false false false Reserve and collect here
  • Harry Hartog Bondi Junction
    (02) 9389 0690
    false false false Reserve and collect here
  • Harry Hartog Burnside Village
    (08) 8338 0920
    false false false Reserve and collect here
  • Harry Hartog Carindale
    (07) 2100 0117
    false false false Reserve and collect here
  • Harry Hartog Green Hills
    (02) 4934 3663
    false false false Reserve and collect here
  • Harry Hartog Kotara
    (02) 4952 2522
    false false false Reserve and collect here
  • Harry Hartog Miranda
    (02) 9524 4744
    false false false Reserve and collect here
  • Harry Hartog Maroochydore
    (07) 5451 1878
    false false false Reserve and collect here
  • Harry Hartog Tuggeranong
    (02) 5119 7750
    false false false Reserve and collect here
  • Harry Hartog Warringah
    (02) 9939 3044
    false false false Reserve and collect here
  • Harry Hartog Woden
    (02) 6232 5832
    false false false Reserve and collect here