Skip to product information
1 of 1

A Perfect Day to be Alone

A Perfect Day to be Alone

an award-winning Japanese coming-of-age classic about unlikely friendships and late youth in Toyko

By Nanae Aoyama

Paperback | ISBN 9781529427684

Regular price $22.99 AUD
Regular price Sale price $22.99 AUD

Condition: New
Sale
GST included. Shipping calculated at checkout.
Condition

*WINNER OF THE AKUTAGAWA PRIZE, Japan's most prestigious literary award, first published when the author was just 24*

*A Japanese contemporary classic, perfect for fans of Convenience Store Woman*

*A love letter to Tokyo as it can only be seen through the eyes of a young woman setting out in the world*

It was raining when I arrived at the house. The walls of my room were lined with cat photos, set in fancy frames just below the ceiling.

When her mother emigrates to China for work, 21-old Chizu moves in with 71-year-old Ginko, an eccentric distant relative, taking a room in her ramshackle Tokyo home, with its two resident cats and the persistent rattle of passing trains.

Living their lives in imperfect symmetry, they establish an uneasy alliance, stress tested by Chizu's flashes of youthful spite. As the four seasons pass, Chizu navigates a series of tedious part-time jobs and unsatisfying relationships, before eventually finding her feet and salvaging a fierce independence from her solitude.

A Perfect Day to be Alone is a moving, microscopic examination of loneliness and heartbreak. With flashes of deadpan humour and a keen eye for poignant detail, Aoyama chronicles the painful process of breaking free from the moorings of youth.

Early reader reviews

"You will love it. I hope we have more translations from this author ASAP, she is super talented! As is the translator!" *****

"A Perfect Day to Be Alone by Nanae Aoyama blew me away utterly and completely" *****

Translated from the Japanese by Jesse Kirkwood

GIFT WRAPPING

Gift Wrapping available. Select the Gift Wrap option in your cart prior to checkout.

BOOK DETAILS

Format: Paperback
ISBN: 9781529427684
Publish/Release date:
Publisher: Quercus Publishing
Number of pages: 160
Width (mm): 128
Height (mm): 196
Depth (mm): 18

View full details

Gift Vouchers and Curated Book Recommendations

Customer Reviews

Be the first to write a review
0%
(0)
0%
(0)
0%
(0)
0%
(0)
0%
(0)