Skip to product information
1 of 1

Aesop's Fables

Aesop's Fables

By Agnes Miller Parker

Hardback | ISBN 9781851245376

Regular price $59.99 AUD
Regular price Sale price $59.99 AUD

Condition: New
GST included. Shipping calculated at checkout.

For twenty-five centuries, the animal stories that go by the name of Aesop's Fables have amused and instructed generations of children and adults alike. The tales are still as fresh and poignant today as they were to the ancient Greeks who composed them. This beautifully illustrated edition contains some of the best-loved fables, including The Boy who Cried Wolf, The Lion and the Mouse, The Goose that Laid the Golden Egg, The Hare and the Tortoise, and The Town Mouse and the Country Mouse, alongside many of the lesser-known tales.

These timeless stories are illustrated with thirty-seven woodcuts by Agnes Miller Parker (18951980), one of the greatest British wood engraving artists of the twentieth century. Parker's distinctive work is strikingly stylised and deceptively simple. Commissioned in the 1930s by the fine press publisher Gregynog Press for their edition of the work, these exquisite engravings are among Parker's finest work.


Gift Wrapping available. Select the Gift Wrap option in your cart prior to checkout.


Format: Hardback
ISBN: 9781851245376
Publish/Release date:
Publisher: Bodleian Library
Number of pages: 208
Width (mm): 190
Height (mm): 242
Depth (mm):

View full details

Gift Vouchers and Curated Book Recommendations