Skip to product information
1 of 1

All the Murmuring Bones

All the Murmuring Bones

By A.G. Slatter

Paperback | ISBN 9781789094343

Regular price $22.99 AUD
Regular price Sale price $22.99 AUD

Condition: New
Sale
GST included. Shipping calculated at checkout.
Condition

*Shortlisted for The Courier-Mail People's Choice Queensland Book of the Year Award 2021*

For fans of Naomic Novik and Katharine Arden, a dark gothic fairy tale from award-winning author Angela Slatter.

Orphaned as a young child, Mirin O'Malley has been brought up by her grandparents on their isolated, rambling estate Hob's Hallow.

Long ago her family prospered due to a deal struck with the mer, the terrifying creatures who live in the depths of the sea: safety for their merchant ships in return for a child of each generation. But for many years the family have been unable to keep their side of the bargain and their fortunes have suffered as a result.

When Mirin's grandfather dies, her grandmother puts in train a plan to restore their glory- but at the price of Mirin's freedom.

Finding amongst her grandfather's papers evidence that her parents may still be alive, Mirin is determined to escape and discover the truth about her origins. This takes her on a treacherous journey to Blackwater, the estate her parents built when they fled Hob's Hallow, but on arrival Mirin finds the estate in decline and her 'Uncle Edward' in charge: where are her parents, and who is this Edward Elliott really?

A story of mystery and magic and the strange creatures that lurk beneath the waves.

'Slatter's dark fantasies have a bright, burning core of understanding and insight.'- M.RCarey, author ofThe Girl with All the GiftsandThe Boy on the Bridge

'An intricately woven, hauntingly beautiful, gothic tale by one of the best storytellers in the business...A must-read.' - Scifiandscary.com

'Gorgeous and rich' - Undine Reads, 5* review
'A darkly atmospheric tale full of folklore' - Forever Lost in Literature, 5* review
'Wonderfully untraditional' A Bookish Type

Praise for Angela Slatter:

'Angela Slatter's stories are horrific, mysterious, whimsical, and mischievous. Beautifully written, full of humanity and intelligence, her stories are both timely and timeless in their concerns. This is an essential collection from one of our best.' - Paul Tremblay, author of A Head Full of Ghosts and The Cabin at the End of the World.

GIFT WRAPPING

Gift Wrapping available. Select the Gift Wrap option in your cart prior to checkout.

BOOK DETAILS

Format: Paperback
ISBN: 9781789094343
Publish/Release date:
Publisher: Titan Books Ltd
Number of pages: 368
Width (mm): 130
Height (mm): 203
Depth (mm):

View full details

Gift Vouchers and Curated Book Recommendations