Skip to product information
1 of 1

The Torrent

The Torrent

The gripping action packed debut crime thriller from the award-winning author of Taken, for fans of Jane Harper, Hayley Scrivenor and Dervla McTiernan

By Dinuka McKenzie

Paperback | ISBN 9781460765340

Regular price $22.99 AUD
Regular price Sale price $22.99 AUD

Condition: New
Sale
GST included. Shipping calculated at checkout.
Condition

A loving husband lost to devastating summer floods. A teenage girl injured during a robbery. Two seemingly unconnected cases that will push a detective to the brink.

An atmospheric, compelling new voice in Australian crime fiction.

'Such a good read' Val McDermid

Winner of the 2020 Banjo Prize. Shortlisted for the 2023 Davitt Awards and 2023 Danger Awards.

In Northern New South Wales, heavily pregnant and a week away from maternity leave, Detective Sergeant Kate Miles is exhausted and counting down the days. But a violent hold-up at a local fast-food restaurant with unsettling connections to her own past, means that her final days will be anything but straightforward.

When a second case is dumped on her lap, the closed case of a man drowned in recent summer floods, what begins as a simple informal review quickly grows into something more complicated. Kate can either write the report that's expected of her or investigate the case the way she wants to.

As secrets and betrayals pile up, and the needs of her own family intervene, how far is Kate prepared to push to discover the truth?

'The Torrent is subtle and clever and Dinuka has talent to burn. It unfolds so beautifully and the writer is in control every step of the way. Highly, highly recommended!' Dervla McTiernan

'The Torrent is vivid, pacy and refreshingly original. A gripping whodunnit with heart.' Emma Viskic

'Gripped me tightly with its twisting narrative threads and its cast of authentic and complex characters until the very last word.' Imbi Neeme

'This gripping debut by Dinuka McKenzie will keep you turning the pages late into the night' Petronella McGovern

'A fast-paced, page-turning crime novel ... Detective Kate Miles is a strong, unforgettable lead, expertly crafted by McKenzie who is an exciting new talent to watch on the Australian literary scene. McKenzie's prose is energetic and bursting with suspense from the first page to the very last.' Holden Sheppard

'A swirl of secrets and lies sweeping through to a deeply satisfying conclusion. McKenzie is an exciting voice - a new contender for Queen of Australian crime.' Katherine Kovacic

'Intense, dangerous and utterly compelling. I'm holding my breath to see what Dinuka McKenzie writes next.' BM Carroll

'A stunning and compelling debut, driven by a cast of engaging characters that came to life on the page. The Torrent is a gripping police procedural with heart that kept me reading into the night!' Rae Cairns

GIFT WRAPPING

Gift Wrapping available. Select the Gift Wrap option in your cart prior to checkout.

BOOK DETAILS

Format: Paperback
ISBN: 9781460765340
Publish/Release date:
Publisher: HarperCollins Publishers (Australia) Pty Ltd
Number of pages: 336
Width (mm): 128
Height (mm): 198
Depth (mm): 19

View full details

Gift Vouchers and Curated Book Recommendations