Skip to product information
1 of 4

Thunderhead

Thunderhead

By Miranda Darling

Hardback | ISBN 9781761380396

Regular price $29.99 AUD
Regular price Sale price $29.99 AUD
Sale
GST included. Shipping calculated at checkout.
Condition

Harry Hartog's review

One of the most eagerly awaited releases of 2024! Spanning the events of a single day, Miranda masterfully pulls you into an unpredictable narrative that uncovers a haunting in everyday life. An immersive work that is perfect for fans of Rachel Cusk and Claire Keegan. - Soph, Harry Hartog Carindale

Publisher's description

A black comedy, set in suburbia, about one woman's struggle to be free.

When Winona Dalloway begins her day - in the peaceful early hours before her children, that 'tiny tornado of little hands and feet', wake up - she doesn't know that by the end of it, everything in her world will have changed.

On the outside, Winona is a seemingly unremarkable young mother- unobtrusive, quietly going about her tasks. But within is a vivid, chaotic self, teeming with voices - a mind both wild and precise.

And meanwhile, a storm is brewing ...

'Darkly funny, astute, timely - Thunderhead's protagonist insists on being heard, and we as readers feel compelled to listen. To care. Such a fresh and lovely voice, full of humour, insight, and energy. I loved Winona - and her story.'
-Sofie Laguna

'Thunderhead takes the brewing storm of domesticity and cracks it open with incredible vulnerability, generosity, and humour. At once Rachel Cusk, at once Jenny Offill, and altogether entirely Miranda Darling, this powerful, restless, irresistible novel is essential reading.'
-Laura Jean Mckay

'Set over one fever-pitched day ... It's a daring book, adopting the aesthetics of Deborah Levy with the velocity of a crime thriller and an off- kilter voice, deeply internal, darkly comic, clipped and Woolf-ish ... Thunderhead brims with magazine- style musings - all those dizzying top notes, that intertextuality, the style. It's a strong, complex and self-aware voice, and it is the primary vehicle through which we gauge Winona's resilience and determination. If The Catcher in the Rye were instead penned by a domestic violence survivor, it might read a little like Thunderhead. For fans of Melissa Broder, Elizabeth Hardwick and Edwina Preston.'
-Mel Fulton, Books+Publishing

GIFT WRAPPING

Gift Wrapping available. Select the Gift Wrap option in your cart prior to checkout.

BOOK DETAILS

Format: Hardback
ISBN: 9781761380396
Publish/Release date:
Publisher: Scribe Publications
Number of pages: 160
Width (mm): 144
Height (mm): 217
Depth (mm): 20

View full details

Gift Vouchers and Curated Book Recommendations

Customer Reviews

Be the first to write a review
0%
(0)
0%
(0)
0%
(0)
0%
(0)
0%
(0)